Click for Cross Click for Abeking Click for Mulder Click for Burger Click for Abeking

Ready to switch from Containerships to Yachts

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by OverAPLships, Apr 24, 2015.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. OverAPLships

OverAPLships New Member

So I graduated a little over a year ago from California Maritime Academy with my 3rd Mates unlimited tonnage license, I've always wanted to sail on containerships. And I have been the past year! It's rad and I love sailing but the sad truth is that most everyone on these ships is miserable. So many of them hate being at sea and can't find joy in things like a great sunset or seeing whales breach. Spending months at a time surrounded by people like that gets a bit old. I know it varies from ship to ship but I feel like I'd like to try something new like yachts before I go too far in this field and look back and wish I had tried something else. It seems like it could be a happier environment to work in. How would I go about finding work on yachts? It seems as though most want previous sea time on a yacht... I don't think a 906' rust bucket passes as a yacht but I suppose I could be wrong. Has anyone else out there made this switch? Thanks for any info guys.
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

There are plenty who have gone from commercial to Yachts.

You cannot expect to waltz straight into a 3rd mates posn on a yacht as not many carry them and those that do want someone who has been on one before for the most part.

Try to get on one as deckie to get some time and work your way up is all I can suggest
  3. OverAPLships

OverAPLships New Member

Ya thats something else I wasn't too sure about, how are most yachts crewed? Is there just a captain and general "mate" or is there a chief mate and then another 3rd/2nd mate. Sorry I'd look this up but I'm on a ship now in Asia and the wifi is reeal slow
  4. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member