Click for Glendinning Click for Westport Click for Northern Lights Click for Walker Click for Mulder

Pictures of Yacht Building Process

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by JonS, Jul 10, 2005.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. JonS

JonS Senior Member

Is there any possibility of getting hold of any 'in build' photos. It's great to be able to see a yacht undergoing work and seeing the insides of them. Would Feadship be kind enough to supply any?
  2. YachtForums

YachtForums Administrator

This is a great idea Jon, something I've been working on for a few months. I haven't spoken with Feadship about this, however we have two other builders that are already taking construction progress pictures for us, so that we can create a continuing story right up to their launches. I'll have more on this soon. :)
  3. Codger

Codger YF Wisdom Dept.

Photos of the actual hull construction would be appreciated. Different materials, steel, aluminium and composites all have their own process requirements.
    Finding out why specific yards have their own specific approach on materials handling and selection would also help in the decision making process.
  4. YachtForums

Guys,

I moved this thread over to the General Yachting Discussion. It's a good topic and hopefully others will chime-in. This could prove "inspirational" in getting other builders to follow in suit. ;)

Because I've been working on the NEW YachtForums in the background, I haven't had time to follow up on this recently, but we have 2 builders that have already agreed to do this.

If I can present other builders with a thread, much like the..."Which Lurssen should we review" thread, we can probably get more of them excited about this idea.

Thanks! :)

Carl
  5. JonS

JonS Senior Member

Come on then guys 'n' gals! Start the chant right here!

"What do we want?"

"We want construction pictures!"

"When do we want them?"