Click for Glendinning Click for Mulder Click for YF Listing Service Click for Nordhavn Click for Burger

Opinions on MCA Yachtmaster vs USCG license

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by highseasgypsy, May 19, 2015.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Hello,
    Brand new to this forum and looking for advice from those with experience please. I have a degree in Marine Science and Tech. and I've worked offshore on a seismic research ship as a Navigator for 10 years (gas and oil exploration). I've recently taken a redundancy package and have $7000USD allowance for re-training / tuition. I'm American but currently live in Spain. I'd like to switch over to the yachting industry and I think I'd be better off attending one of the RYA schools in Palma to obtain my MCA Yachtmaster Ocean rather than going back to America for a USCG license. Do you think this would be my best option? I'm a bit unclear as to the advantage of each and google seems to be full of conflicting information.

On another note, anyone care to share their brutally honest opinion on a women 40 years young starting fresh in the yachting world? I realize it is geared more towards those in their 20's and 30's but I have a very strong work ethic, physically fit, and nobody ever believes me when I tell them I'm 40. But I want to be realistic if most owners have unofficial age limit when hiring. Thanks in advance for advice.
  2. ychtcptn

ychtcptn Senior Member

Personally I would spend your money on a USCG ticket, the MCA Yacht tix are not valid on commercial vessels, and certainly not on any US flag ships. With a USCG you can get a COC from 90% of the flags that are flying on yachts with a simple application for equivalency, you can even get the MCA license if you choose by taking a couple of courses and the oral, but don't know why you would.