Click for Abeking Click for YF Listing Service Click for Nordhavn Click for Nordhavn Click for Cross

New member, Kingston Ontario....looking to buy 3807

Discussion in 'Carver Yacht' started by Piper, Apr 20, 2014.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Piper

Piper New Member

Hello,
    I'm currently the owner of a 28ft Carver Riviera(1983) that has served us well for 6 years, but now seriously considering to upgrade with the purchase of a local Carver 3807(1988).

The boat I'm considering is in excellent shape, for her age (pending a survey of course) , and appears to have been well looked after by her current owner.

One of the things I've hated with the Riviera was the tight working quarters in the engine compartment. I'm not a mechanic, but do consider myself to be a reasonably decent "screw turner", so I like to do my own winterizing, spring cleanup, general maintenance, like tune ups, compression tests, etc. all that I have down there is the twin 305 crusaders, no genny, no air. I've got maybe 10 inches between manifolds and I'm 6'1". I can do everything , but GEEEEZ it's a tight squeeze some times.

The 3807 will obviously have more creature comforts, but that engine room sure still looks sorta tight , even with it's 14 ft beam. It had twin 454 Crusaders, twin saddle fuel tanks, air/heat, a gen, and several batteries down there.
    I'm just wondering if there are any other 3807 owners on here that could advise me on
    1)How they have found their working conditions in their engine compartments rooms?
    2) What are the Achilles heel(if any) to watch out for on a 3807?
    3) Where are the a/c units located?
    4) How many keel drain plugs are there in a typical stock 3807 and where are they located?

Thanks in advance for your help to this "newbie". Any advice would be most appreciated.
    Warren
    Gananoque, Ontario
  2. Carver38

Carver38 Member