Click for Abeking Click for Westport Click for Mulder Click for YF Listing Service Click for JetForums

new member intro

Discussion in 'Yacht Designers Discussion' started by rlackey, Jun 13, 2005.

1. rlackey

rlackey New Member

Hi there,

I just want to introduce myself. My name is Rich Lackey and I have been designing a 52m multi deck sailing yacht since early 2000. It's a hobby not a profession but one I take very seriously.

I use Rhino3D for my modelling, and a shelf full of good books on naval architecture and yacht design. So far I have completed the basic design of the hull and superstructure, and after about 31 revisions of the hull alone, it finally meets the design criteria as far as stability and performance projections are concerned. It is a radius chine steel hull, and this was chosen in the hopes that one day I can actually build it myself.

I am now busy building the first scale model of the hull for tank testing. I have joined to meet likeminded people and to learn and hopefully get some much needed help along the way.

I look forward to meeting you all and joining in some discussions!

Rich Lackey
  2. AMG

AMG YF Moderator

Welcome onboard Rich!

Although I am not a naval architect, I always have some ideas on a good hull. But I think I can be of more help when you come to space planning where yachting experience is more important. I hate to see big sailing yachts with lots of loose furniture..., something I am sure you will not include if you are planning to build this yacht for yourself!

So, now we are waiting to see how far you have come...? :)

/Lars
  3. YachtForums

YachtForums Administrator

Welcome aboard Rich! Look forward to you joining in the discussion. :)
  4. rlackey

rlackey New Member

Thanks guys,