Click for YF Listing Service Click for Westport Click for Burger Click for Furuno Click for Mag Bay

New deckhand, crew position, large yacht

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by Nelson12345, Jul 4, 2008.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Nelson12345

Nelson12345 New Member

Hi I am new to the sailing world , and a friend and I want to get deckhand jobs on a yacht . I am only 16 and had planed to take the STWC 95 BST and go sailing next summer . I am a hard worker and I am wondering if I will even be able to get a job at 17 . are there any other qualifications that I will need , please help me if you can Thank you .
  2. Nelson12345

Nelson12345 New Member

can some one pleas help me with this
  3. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

1) Get an education
    2) Work in a marina during summer break
    3) Spend as much time as possible on and around boats
    4) get more education
    5) get more education
  4. Nelson12345

Nelson12345 New Member

that is the plan ,I intend to do this as a summer job . I would like to know if there is any thing else I need other thatn STWC95 BST and reading a lot of books on sailing . how much could I expect to get paid as a deckhand, I want to do this in order to save money for school , and to learn the skills that come with it. Thank you
  5. Ken Bracewell

Ken Bracewell Senior Member

To be honest, I doubt you'll find a job on a yacht. If there are any tour/dinner type boats around you, go talk to them an volunteer for the time being. If you're a hard worker, they will hire you.
    The yacht industry isn't really seasonal and most captains are looking for someone who will commit for at least a year. Your age would also be a factor.
  6. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

Nelson,