Click for Northern Lights Click for Burger Click for JetForums Click for Mag Bay Click for Cross

Lots of Questions

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by Ben, Feb 9, 2005.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Ben

Ben Senior Member

Hello all, this is my first post, and I thought I'd use it to clear up a few nagging questions that I've not been able to find answers for. I'm quite new to the whole megayacht thing and am trying to gain a basic understanding. ;)

My previouse experiance is limited to occasional weekend use of an 18ft bow-rider, some years ago. Here goes.....

First is a simple question, more of a clarification. Does the word "Draft" refer to the depth of the vessel in the water, or the amount of water required to safely use the vessel?

Next, I'm fascinated by the idea of having a boat with an ice strengthened hull. Is there a difference between 'ice strengthened' and 'ice breaker'? Would it be possible to strengthen, say, a large steel hulled motor yacht for use in icey areas (not ice breaking)?

I've seen someone refer to 'beam penalties' when berthing a yacht. I understand this to mean that wider yachts will be charged more for a berth, could someone elaborate on the specifics? i.e. how wide and how much extra cost (on average).

Any help appreciated. :)

Ben.
  2. JonS

JonS Senior Member

Draft is the depth of the hull below the water line.

Would have to pass on the other two for the mo.
  3. AMG

AMG YF Moderator

Hi Ben and welcome to the Forums!

As Jon said, the draft, or draught, is how deep the lowest fixed part will intrude below the waterline. In reality, you can drive a fast boat in more shallow waters as long as you can maintain speed and the opposite goes for a displacement yacht which will increase it´s depth-going at speed. The sea itself is not like a dance-floor either and you have to consider swell or wake and ebbtide situations when you compare to the chart.