Click for Abeking Click for Burger Click for Delta Click for Abeking Click for Ocean Alexander

Looking to Purchase 1990's Hatteras Motor Yacht with Detroit's

Discussion in 'Hatteras Yacht' started by bayboater1, Apr 15, 2017.

1. bayboater1

bayboater1 New Member

I am looking to purchase a 65-75 ft. Hatteras Motor Yacht, 1990's vintage. Every one that I have looked at has Detroit's, either 12v92's or 12v71's. I have owned yachts with Cat's and Cummin's in the past but I have no experience with Detroit's.
    In talking with quite a few boaters it seems that 50% love them and 50% hate them! The haters say they are old antiques with parts becoming obsolete, leak oil, smokey, need overhauls every 2,000 hours and not fuel efficient. The lovers say they are tried and true with parts readily available and a great service network and if maintained like any diesel requires have a great engine life so I am totally confused. I also would appreciate comments on the DDEC engines. Should I stay away from these yachts because of these engines? Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!
  2. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

Either two stroke Detroit properly maintained will work well.
    12v71 rule. Any 92 is not as forgiving but can deliver more HP.
    I'm an ole Bertram fool and recommend 71s over 92s.
    Currently managing two ole Hatts with 12v71TAs (900 hp) & ZF clutches. Bomb proof.

DDECs are fun and when working, great. The cost of repairs and finding a good tech has been the demise to this upgrade.
    I'd keep it simple and avoid them.
  3. dennismc

dennismc Senior Member

Too many people hire the local friend who knows these detroits, yeah..or someone who knows someone who is really good on them and not expensive ..right..they are wonderful engines, specially the 71's, hire the pros to check them out and also to fix them, pays in the long run..I have a pair of 71's since 1991 and just luvem !!! my 2c
  4. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member