Click for Nordhavn Click for Furuno Click for Delta Click for Mulder Click for Glendinning

Let’s Talk STARLINK

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by DOCKMASTER, Jun 19, 2022.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. TahoeJohn

    TahoeJohn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Tahoe VIsta
    I realize that you weren't asking for a picture my install, but in case it's helpful, here it is. Our experiences mirror that of MBevins in terms of how happy we are with the service. Total game-changer.

    20220712_111920_resized.jpg
    gr8trn likes this.
  2. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    That's a really nice clean install.
    What can you tell me about the bracket ? How's it fastened to the deck?
  3. TahoeJohn

    TahoeJohn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Tahoe VIsta
    Thanks. It's an aluminum tube with a round flange (1/4" thick) welded to the bottom. Four through bolts secure it to the top of my fiberglass radar arch. I 3D printed an adapter to fit inside the top of the tube and marry up with the SL pole end, then waterproofed that joint with tape.

    The cable is fed down through the tube and then inside the boat from there. Cutting off the large SL proprietary connector made running the cable down a lot easier, and then I installed a regular RJ45 connector (also eliminating the SL router in the process).
    gr8trn likes this.
  4. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    Very nice, if I have issues with the C3 , I'll remove it and do what you did, I'm hoping not as I don't have access to through bolt and I don't trust self tapping in this application.
  5. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,315
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Installing one right now on the Lazzara 110 I run. On the skylounge roof, away from the maze of antenna and stuff. I recycled an old antenna mount which had a larger fitting. Wrapped a couple of layers of gorilla tape around the Starlink tube to make up for the size difference and drilled a hole thru with a bolt to secure it. The oddly shaped connector require a large hole so we filled the hole with epoxy with a short piece of plastic conduit for the wire filled with sealant. Need to get a clamshell


    34E059D0-2230-4D25-A98A-52A49F0C262F.jpeg
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2022
    gr8trn likes this.
  6. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    Did you through bolt ? I'm concerned about windage with just a 1inch self tapping screw, I suppose you could put some 5200 under it,
  7. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,315
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    No we didn’t. Bedded with 4200. I think it will be fine
  8. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,075
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Looks like good swamp engineering.
    I'm confused; Parisian or Coonass??
  9. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,315
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I m pretty good at n…. sorry… jury rigging. There are no marine mounts for Starlink so you hav two improvise!
    JadePanama and Capt Ralph like this.
  10. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,075
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    Adapt and overcome.
    Amen..
  11. gr8trn

    gr8trn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    OR/CA
    Glad I asked to see these, nothing magic just good 'ol get 'er done so far.
  12. Fjol70

    Fjol70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Denmark
    Not sure if I should start a new topic or not, but since it involve Starlink v.2 satellites figure I could just stick it here.

    SpaceX and T-Mobile is going to bring satellite based cellphone roaming on Starlink v.2 satellites.


    Event starts at around 6 min mark of the video

    Fairly low bandwidth, only 2 Mb per Starlink "celltower", but will work with existing phones and TMobile is going to include it in many of their existing packages .
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2022
  13. Fjol70

    Fjol70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Denmark
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2022
  14. ocgrant

    ocgrant New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    You might try this to tighten up your install. Just used it on mine and came out great
    https://www.etsy.com/listing/1281029681/
  15. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,315
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  16. gr8trn

    gr8trn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    OR/CA
    Nice find, someone is thinking. Etsy, looks like I need to keep that site in mind more than in the past. Thanks. No starlink for me yet but when and if I do...

    Is that just holding the starlink pole with one set screw or does the pole just sit in there?
  17. Kevin

    Kevin YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,065
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
  18. ocgrant

    ocgrant New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    The starlink pole snaps right into it
    gr8trn likes this.
  19. incoming

    incoming Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Cocoa Beach, FL
    Anyone know how tolerant they are of enabling/disabling service during periods of not using it? I'm not using mine right now - wifi at marina is currently good. But I'm afraid if i stop service, i'll go to the back of the queue and not be able to get it turned back on again.
  20. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    There's no queue. Just min 30 days plus timing of where you are in current billing cycle. This only applies to the RV account