Click for Westport Click for Westport Click for Mulder Click for Furuno Click for Walker

Learning on your own...

Discussion in 'Yacht Designers Discussion' started by Jabor, Feb 10, 2009.

1. Jabor

Jabor Member

Hey guys

I'm a Transportation Design student who's been doing cars so far, but I really wanna get into yacht design.

Problem is: I can't find a book that would give the basics on Naval Archiecture, Motor and Sail Yacht designs. I wanna know the difference between displacement and semi-displacement yachts, principles on proportions and basics about interior layouts. How do I package a yacht? How big are engines and propellers? How much they weight and how does this affect performance? Hull shapes, bow angles, build materials, and so forth.

I am considering a Yacht Design maters in the future, but my education is already costing me a lot of money so far and that is out of my plans for now. Besides, I wanna try some stuff while still in school.

So, any suggestions on books/websites/magazines that I can learn all that from???

Thanks a lot! Great forum this!:)
  2. PropBet

PropBet Senior Member

Being that you're a student, I'd probably start with a quick search through the University Library catalog. I'm guessing they'll have something to get you started. Next to that, some google searches might turn up some points of interest and or some other reference material which could be of value.
  3. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

Click on the SEARCH button above and type Yacht Design into the Key Word. The results will keep you busy for quite awhile. You'll get everything from brillience to the absurd. It's a good place to start. Good luck.
  4. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

Good Idea NYCAP- Just remember to change the drop down menu to search thread titles only or you will get every post with those words in it somewhere.
  5. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member