Click for Nordhavn Click for YF Listing Service Click for Burger Click for Nordhavn Click for Delta

Internet Communications onboard a yacht?

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by MicJovi, Jul 5, 2008.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. MicJovi

MicJovi New Member

Hi and Hello. My name is Micky. I'm not a sailor but my fiance is. She's now working on a yacht and this is first time we been together she went to work. I have some questions I hope someone can help me. Communication, she's able to send and recieve emails at first, while she was sailing up from Seattle to Alaska, we were able to exchange emails. On June 29th, she went back out to sea and I wrote her many emails but nothing back. Is there a reason for this? Such as you can get email connections in some areas and some areas you can't? What's best way to check her boat that it's ok? I am really new with this yacht/sailing thing. Thanks for your time. MICKY
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

Welcome to YF.

The ability to send and receive e mails depends upon the boats systems and location.

Is she working on a yacht or fish boat?

There are also often restrictions on crew internet use when guests/owners are onboard on a yacht.

If they have gone way up north or west they might not be able to see the satellite if they are using VSAT for their comms.
  3. MicJovi

MicJovi New Member

She's working on a Yacht called Ice Bear. It's located somewhere in SouthEastern Alaska. Now you mentioned about owners/guests, she went out to sea on June 29 with owner and guests on board. Why are crew might not be allowed to use the computer when owner/guests are on board? I'm sure they know the crew have family/friends that would like to stay in touch. Thanks for your reply.
  4. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

I beloeve Ice Bear is a ex Gallant Lady which is a De Bries Feadship that lurks in Sitka- It might even be registered there.