Click for Mulder Click for Mag Bay Click for Westport Click for Cross Click for Ocean Alexander

Hybrid yachts

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by sshiesha, Aug 25, 2018.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. sshiesha

sshiesha New Member

Hi.

I am new to the world of yachts. I am interested in "Hybrid Yachts". Hopefully in the 60' to 70' size. But the only one I found in that range was the Greenline brand. Are there any other hybrid yachts out there that are not catamarans or super yachts? I want to be able to cruise long distances without burning too much fuel. and I am not interested in Sailboats.

Thanks
  2. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

LOLOLOL, well Catamaran hulls are very efficient for that speed. Your best bet would be to just get a traditional long range displacement hulled trawler.
  3. sshiesha

sshiesha New Member

Thanks Capt J. But do trawlers burn less fuel than a flybridge cruiser?
  4. olderboater

olderboater Senior Member

Typically, yes.
  5. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

Typically a little less. However, if you ran a FB cruiser at 8 knots you'd get almost the same mileage. You would have to run at cruise 30 minutes every 6 hours to clean things out.
  6. SeaLion

SeaLion Senior Member

The answer depends on why you're interested in hybrid yachts and what you want to do with the boat.

If you're just trying to save fuel, just go slower, as Capt J says (essentially). There are other benefits to hybrids, assuming the Greenline-like powertrain of diesel engine-->generator/e motor-->marine gear-->propshaft ...coupled with large batteries and inverter(s) and no generator fitted. I like...
    Silent, smokeless docking and departure - easier for the crew to hear each other and not waking an entire anchorage at 4am.
    Hours of 120v/220v without running a generator - e.g. A/C all night at anchor
    A twin screw boat with only two internal combustion engines, yet twin generators