Click for JetForums Click for Christensen Click for DeAngelo Click for Llebroc Click for Westport

How to get data from 1991 MAN Engines

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by SerkanS, Jan 13, 2018.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. SerkanS

    SerkanS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Hello,

    I recently bought an old yatch with 1100hp 1991 MAN Engines on it. (D2842 LZE to be exact)

    I would like to setup a new monitoring system with touch screen monitors using NMEA2000 protocol.
    It will be perfect if I can engines data such as RPM, Temperature and such.
    Anybody has an idea how to get this data from the engines and convert to NMEA 2000 signals?

    Thanks in advance.
  2. captholli

    captholli Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    In The Bilge
    Maretron and Noland have analog to NMEA 2000 system data converters that will work with your LZE's
  3. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,291
    Location:
    Jax FL
    Here is the cross from box driven analog signals to CanBus driven signals.
    I would consult with your MAN shop before plunging into a A to D (NEMA2K) box.
  4. SerkanS

    SerkanS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Thank you Captholli,
    I have read a lot about Maretron J1939 to NMEA2000 converter box.
    I just was not sure if my engines has J1939 output or not.
    I am not sure if MAN dealers in Turkey handles such inovative projects, so wanted to learn here before I ask them.

    Any ideas what would be the connector to plug to the engine and where will it be connected to?

    Thanks..
  5. CaptPKilbride

    CaptPKilbride Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    Live in Maine, work in the Gulf of Mexico
    I highly doubt that engines of that age would have any electronics.

    They are old school, with a big Bosch mechanical injection pump in the valley.
    There will not be any kind of "connector" as you are used to seeing in newer engines.

    What you will have to do to have a monitoring system as you describe will be to install sensors on the engines, or as mentioned above have a box that can convert the signal from existing analog sensors already on the engine to digital.
  6. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    9,932
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    No, they have a monitoring system that displays error codes on the dash. Alarms and things of that nature only.......
  7. CaptPKilbride

    CaptPKilbride Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    Live in Maine, work in the Gulf of Mexico
    Yeah we had that crappy monitoring system and replaced it with an engine saver from Flight Systems. Regardless, even that monitoring system will not have any "data" other than simple analog switches that define simple "yes/no" alarm conditions.

Share This Page