Click for Delta Click for Walker Click for YF Listing Service Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Perko

How do I become a Deckhand?

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by Mark Francis, Jul 18, 2012.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Mark Francis

Mark Francis Guest

Hi All,

My name is Mark Francis and I am a recent graduate of the University of Central Florida with a Bachelors degree in Marketing. Since I am now done with my college education, I am looking into traveling the world, especially Europe and Australia, while also saving money to eventually start my own MMA/Crossfit warehouse style gym.

Becoming a Deckhand looks to be the best fit in order to accomplish these goals but I have ZERO boating experience. The closest job to water that I have ever had is being a Lifeguard on and off for about 5 years. I also have about three years in Customer Service having worked at Disney (which is one of the best places to work for customer service in my opinion).

I really do want to become a Deckhand but do not know at all how to go about it. I would like to make it to the Mediterranean or Australia and serve on a Superyacht in order to travel around different ports but have no clue where to start.

With your experience, and if you were in my shoes, how would you begin to tackle this situation?

Thanks,
    Mark
  2. Fishtigua

Fishtigua Senior Member

Hi Mark,

Welcome aboard. There is already a wealth of info here, you just have to do some reading.

Licensing & Education - YachtForums.Com

If you happen to be related to the famous Yacht Designer Martin Francis, that may help. :D
  3. Swamp fox

Swamp fox Member