Click for Apollonian Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Cheoy Lee Click for CL Yachts Click for Abeking

Garmin keeps acquiring

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by olderboater, Oct 28, 2017.

  1. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,812
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    First it was Active Captain. Now it's Navionics.
  2. YachtForums

    YachtForums Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    19,921
    Location:
    South Florida
    When you look at the price of the G5000 avionics set, none-the-less their marine hardware, it's easy to how the acquisition funds accumulated. Figure 6 figures for this Hawker 400XP installation.

    Attached Files:

  3. AMG

    AMG YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,300
    Location:
    Sweden
    This is the Volvo Penta/Garmin 2 x 22" Touch Screens we have in the Delta 60 Open. Very clean compared to the traditional mix of screens and gauges of all kinds...

    Garmin D60.jpg
  4. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,812
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    As a Garmin owner, I like it. As a Furuno owner, don't.

    The question of the day is are they making these acquisitions simply to improve their product or are they predatory, designed to take products and features away from their competition.
  5. AMG

    AMG YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,300
    Location:
    Sweden
    I guess both, but as long as they donĀ“t do like Adobe and kill the good products in favor of their inferior, it is OK...
  6. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,812
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Just would love to be privy to the talk right now at Furuno. They were the first to integrate with Active Captain and they're a heavy user of Navionics.
  7. Mike Moser

    Mike Moser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Rogers, AR
    With the 1st number being a 4 !
  8. Iknownothing

    Iknownothing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Lauderdale
    Garmin makes smart acquisitions, they acquired me :)
  9. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I hate that setup as 1 entire nav screen is always on the gauges when you're running on a trip and you only have 1 screen for Nav/radar/depth/cameras etc. I prefer the engine manufacturers electronic display rather than trying to go back and forth between chartplotter and gauges......etc. etc.
  10. Capt Ralph

    Capt Ralph Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,819
    Location:
    Satsuma, FL
    As Dometic has proven well; When you can't compete,, Buy up your competition.
  11. AMG

    AMG YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,300
    Location:
    Sweden
    Agreed, I never have the big gauges up underway, all information is there anyway...
  12. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,565
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Clean stylish and cool but totally unpractical unless the is a way to show the engine data in databoxes so you can have two screens for nav.

    Like having one column for port engine data on the right edge of the left screen, and the stbd engine data on the left edge of the right screen. That would make sense.

    I rarely overlay radar and plotter as i usually want them at different ranges
  13. AMG

    AMG YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,300
    Location:
    Sweden
  14. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,812
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I think the complaint is that people don't want their engine data infringing on the monitors being used for navigation. Setting it up within the monitors where you want it is simple. I think there's also a feeling by some that the engine builders have excellent tools so why not just use that instead of bringing Garmin into the equation to manage it.

    Old and typical argument with no right or wrong, but basically do I want my engine data included with my Navigation system or do I want to keep it separate?
  15. AMG

    AMG YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,300
    Location:
    Sweden
    Today it is all integrated in the CANbus system anyway, navigation, engines, entertainment, lighting and what have you. So having it on the same screen(s) is just the logical way of displaying it. If you want backup screens, you probably have an iPad on the boats Wifi where you can access all of it.... Times are changing...
  16. olderboater

    olderboater Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6,812
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Some people don't like that. Perhaps the same ones who still prefer paper charts. Personally, I'm of the nature to just add monitors or increase the size of them. Can't have too many. lol
  17. PacBlue

    PacBlue Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,997
    Location:
    Dana Point, Ca
    Agreed, the new norm would be three screens if you have the space or two screens with a separate space for engine provided displays.
  18. Capt J

    Capt J Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    That's where I'm at. The engine manufacturers is plenty sufficient and I like the data on their monitor. That way if the Garmin (or Furuno) goes down, I at least still have the engine monitor. Also sometimes if I'm simply moving the boat a short distance I don't want to fire up the Garmin. I don't need or want to see it on my Nav moniters PERIOD, same goes for the autopilot control. Unless you have 4 monitors. I prefer a full monitor for radar, a full monitor for chartplotter and sometimes a full monitor for fishfinder.