Click for Westport Click for Furuno Click for Delta Click for Cross Click for Abeking

Fuel consumption and questions

Discussion in 'General Sailing Discussion' started by dentistcpl, Apr 19, 2011.

1. dentistcpl

dentistcpl New Member

Kaohsiung, Monaco, Cape Town are the distination
    hi guys, i am new to this. I am still saving up for a Sailing yacht, but I have a few questions regarding this topic.
    How much fuel does a sailor yacht take (on average I mean)?
    When we talk about "Beam" what does that mean?
    Is a small engine on a sailing yacht reliable and does it also help with battery rechargin?
    How long does it take to actually learn how to sail?
    Shall I take the ASA 101 course now, despite I dont really have a boat yet?

Sorry for asking so many "rookie" questions, but i am really interested and excited about sailing! =) Thanks guys
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

That depends a lot on the size of the boat

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beam_(nautical)
    That will depend on what type of engine it is, how it's maintained and operated, it should at least be able top charge it's own start battery

That will depend on how often you can get out to sail, learning the fundamentals doesn't take long refining those can take the rest of your life.

Everyone has to start somewhere

Your welcome and welcome to YF.
  3. Marmot

Marmot Senior Member

Assuming you are talking about a small boat around 10m, you'll probably drink more than the engine will.

It doesn't take but a few days to learn how to sail well enough to enjoy an outing. Learning all the other stuff can take years.

By all means take a course now. It will teach you how to be safe on the water and will answer thousands of questions you haven't even thought to ask yet. It will also help you decide what kind of boat you want, or if you really want one at all, and it will teach you what to see when you look at a boat.
  4. PropBet

PropBet Senior Member