Click for Perko Click for Abeking Click for YF Listing Service Click for Westport Click for Mulder

Engineer/ETO position.

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by engy, May 20, 2009.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. engy

engy New Member

Hailing from Bideford North Devon, currently stayi
    Hi all,

I've just stumbled over this site and have been very impressed by some of the discussions I've read, and would like some advice about starting a career in the Yachting industry.

I did an apprenticeship in Electronic Communications in the British Army and spent a further 9 years serving all over the world. Since leaving the Army, i have been an engineer working for a large telecommunications company. I have good electronics and general electrics background coupled with good IT skills.

More recently, I have completed a Yacht Engineers course at the UKSA including AEC, STCW95, further training towards MEOL and Y4, just needing the service and sea time before I can sit the Oral exam for MEOL. I have had a number of professionals from the yacht industry help me fine tune my CV, and the feedback I'm getting is that it is very good. I'm currently in Palma looking for work, but there doesn't seem to be very much out there. Any advice on how to stand out from the crowd and secure that all important first position would be greatly appreciated.

many thanks in advance
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

How long have you been looking?

ETO's that are good are hard to find, the unfortunate thing about a number of guys who consider themselves to be ETO's is simple- They aren't up to the job.

Reading your brief experience I would say you should not have any problems getting on as ETO on a boat.

Have you listed with the agencies?
  3. engy

engy New Member

Thanks for the vote of confidence K1W1,