Click for Westport Click for Burger Click for Delta Click for YF Listing Service Click for YF Listing Service

Crew Accomodation - A New Precedence?

Discussion in 'Yacht Crews' started by Hobbit, Jul 17, 2008.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Hobbit

Hobbit New Member

Hi all,

The imposition of owners needs has precedence over the needs of the crew. Due to this hierarchy, the crew quarters are, during the yachts preliminary design stage, an afterthought.

As a designer, i am guilty of such ignorance. However, i know that this must change. The crew are the heart and brain of the yacht and need to be happy and efficient. Its a cliché to say that 'a happy crew, is a happy yacht', but this is the simple truth.

An owner will hand a designer his/her aspirations and specification for there yacht. What i would like to ask you is what are your aspirations and specifications for crew areas? How can existing conditions be improved? How do we create the best crew accommodation on the water? I would like to take an inside out approach and design for the crew first and then for the owner second.

Please tell me your thoughts on how we can set a new precedence in crew accommodation design.
  2. Garry Hartshorn

Garry Hartshorn Senior Member

The IMO ( International Maritime Organization ) in conjunction with the ILO ( International Labor Organization ) Has guide lines for crew accommodation on commercial vessels however they exclude yachts, fishing and military vessels. I do not have a copy of those guidelines but I have read them and from memory it includes things like a sleeping space must also include 2 square meters of floor space with full headroom per person. The minimum size for a bunk, ventilation and lighting requirements. I think that would be a very good start.
  3. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

There are a number of things that can be done to improve the lot of those who live in the Crew Cabins.