Click for Abeking Click for Northern Lights Click for Furuno Click for JetForums Click for Westport

Circum Navigator

Discussion in 'General Sailing Discussion' started by Aussie Wombat, Jun 20, 2010.

1. Aussie Wombat

Aussie Wombat New Member

Hi All. I would dearly love some advise on a second hand yatch to travel everywhere (in no hurry) with my wife. Will live on yatch for 2 plus years at a time. I am a real beginner. Have come up with the following. Large as budget allows - Sailable by 2 people - Has Tender - only two berth - Toilet and shower - Hot water service - All equipment - Auto pilot etc -Radar etc - Life boat - Good rigging - Large battery capacity – solar and wind recharging - Insurable
    Internal Helm (bad weather - I am a whimp)– or at least undercover. oh and my wife wants a tall dark handsome African American made as a deck hand. That aint going to happen).
    We are middle aged. Not sure about budget. It will dpend on the selling of our house or our business (or both!!)
    We live in Australia
  2. Aussie Wombat

Aussie Wombat New Member

One more thing

One thing I forgot. Does anyone know of any good web sites or books that would help us plan for our journey around the world?

Cheers
  3. nilo

nilo Senior Member

4. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

Aussie Wombat,
    For a world cruiser on your budget you'd definitly be looking at a sailboat. With space & creature comforts being high on your prioity list I say look toward cats. You'll find lots of good info on living aboard and/or the dream if you type Livaboard into the SEARCH feature here. You also might want to surf some of the sailing and sailboat sites on the web. $300K in a used motoryacht will get you more of a coastal cruiser under 50'; more of a weekender or maybe a coastal livaboard. Good luck.
  5. vivariva

vivariva Senior Member

Thanks for the website Nilo, I saw these books advertised separately but never as the complete sets presented.