Click for YF Listing Service Click for Mulder Click for Northern Lights Click for Westport Click for Delta

Chris Craft 22, Cutlass, Dory inboard ?

Discussion in 'Chris Craft Connies, Commanders & Catalinas' started by Jackman, Sep 29, 2018.

1. Jackman

Jackman New Member

I have a Chris Craft Cutlass straight inboard with a 305, question is what RPM are you guys crusie at and how long do you stay it that cruise rpm?

Reason I ask is I'm new to boats and have read on other forms that cruising at 3,200-3,500 is the norm, and noI'm not doubting the info on the other form I just want to hear the same or possibly have someone correct me encase I got bad info........ BTW I did blow my engine lost psi and she is a knocking , but I think that has more to due with od age and not high RPM's ............Anyway opinions please....
  2. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

That's a 305 CID Chevy?
    3000 to 3500 RPM is about where the best torque curve is. Pending economic operation, when the bow just comes down is your minimum planing / cruise speed.
    After you verify WOT is around 4300 rpm.
    I remember my old 20' Thompson with a 302 CID gas; 3000 rpm was the sweet spot just after the bow came down light.
    Full of people the torque curve helped the cruise around 3300 rpm and made the same speed. Modified V hull. No tabs.
  3. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

You or your tech has to pull the heads. I feel you spun a bearing and lost a piston and rod.
    305 Chevys are cheap and your stuff will fit a 350. Something to consider if your going to run heavy a lot.
  4. Jackman

Jackman New Member

Yes 305 Chevy :). The engine is dead for now , I'll search for the sweet spot next season . No trim tabs on my boat , I may add them later, too soon to tell right now if I need tabs.

Thanks for the reply! :)
  5. Jackman

Jackman New Member