Click for Mag Bay Click for YF Listing Service Click for Abeking Click for Mulder Click for JetForums

Charter Business Help - Young Entrepreneur

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by Vinn, Jan 26, 2016.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vinn

Vinn New Member

Hi all,

I am new to the forums and as my first post would like to make an introduction post.

I currently do not own a boat, but am looking to purchase a 30 ft. powerboat w/cabin and offer half/full day private charters at discounted prices. I believe I have the marketing resources available to be profitable within the first year of operations, also living in South Florida doesn't hurt.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for resources I can read and absorb all the information online about running a private charter business?

I am an absolute beginner to boats unfortunately, but have always been drawn to the water and adventure.

Best regards,

Vinn
  2. RT46

RT46 Senior Member

Vinn,

You can become moderately wealthy owning a boat and running a private charter business.

As long as you start out as filthy stinking rich before getting into the above.
  3. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

That is very true.

You may find it harder than you first imagined making a profit in your first year. As a beginner do you have any idea about the setup and operational costs of owning and chartering a yacht in the size range you are looking at?

Are you going to operate it yourself or offer bareboat charters?
  4. Vinn

Vinn New Member

Haha, well I am looking at purchasing only a $20k - $30k boat. I will plan on running approximately $200 half day and $400 full day charters with various options.

I think I am lucky to have location on my side. Living in South Florida, the waters are active all year long with people from all over the world looking to get on the water.