Click for Glendinning Click for YFYS Click for Lurssen Click for Mag Bay Click for Walker

Bell Satellite TV Canada

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Thisisit, Jun 17, 2022.

  1. Thisisit

    Thisisit Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Midland, Ontario, Canada
    Our boat had a Raymarine sat tracker and STV45 control box installed when we bought it. We had no need for it so we never used it, never tried to.
    Recently we have tried several times to initialize a Bell Expressvu tuner box by going through the set up menu, for both sat 82 and sat 91. We've done switch checks, transponder tests etc. We are using a friend's active tuner for this. After going through all the checks and tests, we still show zero on the signal strength.
    It just occurred to me that Bell Expressvu may have switched to a digital HD signal only and my dish can't decode it. I'm not sure how old our system is but like I said, the model is STV 45 if that helps.
    Does anyone on this side of the border, with the same setup have any tips for me?
  2. dennismc

    dennismc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    I think you need a bell tv tuner box
  3. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    I think you need to not spend a dime on anything Bell. Look at replacement with the new Starlink.
  4. Thisisit

    Thisisit Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Midland, Ontario, Canada
    That doesn't help, but thanks.
  5. Thisisit

    Thisisit Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Midland, Ontario, Canada
    I have the Bell box as I mentioned in the OP.
  6. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    Why would you say "that doesn't help" I'm suggesting an alternative that is magnitudes cheaper and better than Bell. ( Unless of course you're a Bell executive)
  7. Thisisit

    Thisisit Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Midland, Ontario, Canada
    My sat tracker requires a Bell box and ergo a Bell account. Access to the account is available to me already. I'm simply trying to get the system up and running.
    I don't have the appetite to pay for another service. I don't understand how replacing a system I already have, that may work for me, would be magnitudes cheaper.
    I just need help from someone with the same set up to point out to me something I may be doing incorrectly.
    You may have an axe to grind with Bell for what ever reason. Bringing that gripe to a forum that doesn't really address the original request is something "that doesn't help."
    If I have it wrong, and you can do the math for me how Starlink would be better and cheaper, I'm more than willing to consider it and do the research.
  8. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    No I don't have a personal axe to grind with Bell. That being said I do believe they are a hideously over bloated company that doesn't like to leave a dime their customers pocket.

    But my point was for you not to spend money on dying market. The new Starlink system is a huge improvement and will eventually be the death of all satellite TV providers.
    Kevin likes this.
  9. GPO

    GPO Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    West Vancouver, British Columbia
    Key word: eventually. As I understand it Starlink currently works on only land based installations. Not yet proven for mobile marine installations. A year ago I decided to go with Bell and it meets my immediate needs. My choice was to spend dollars now to enjoy now, rather than wait. I’m not always rational when it comes to expenditures on my boat! Keenly monitoring Starlink developments though.
  10. GPO

    GPO Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    West Vancouver, British Columbia
    I went with a KVH TrackVision TV 5 (HD series) and Bell from scratch. No issues with installation and operation, so I can’t help with your particular situation. Some observations. It may be beyond a DIY approach. Installing and adapting new tech to older tech already installed can present quirky challenges. Compatibility issues are typically encountered. Unless someone here has solved a similar (identical?) issue and can assist, I suggest you engage a tech experienced with Sat systems.
  11. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    I'm currently on my boat using starlink. Currently 151mps down and 6 up. If I knew how to display it I would.
    And yes it's allowed on boats, just not supposed to run while moving.
  12. GPO

    GPO Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    West Vancouver, British Columbia
    Interesting. This is the first report from a user that I've heard. The stats are pretty good, compared to my 261.6 down and 15.6 up at home on Shaw cable.

    Starlink coverage up the PNW coast appears to be decent, at least up to Haida Gwaii. By "allowed" I'm assuming that you have the RV application. The RV application appears to be fixed on a tripod for when one is parked and can capture and hold a signal. I'm curious how one would implement it in a marine application. We are almost always on the hook when cruising and the boat is constantly moving in typical conditions. I can hear my KVH adjusting to hold the signal. I suppose if one is moored at a dock, minimal motion might not be a problem. To sum up, it seems to me it's "not quite there yet". We need a dish that can adjust to hold a signal - at least for my needs.
  13. Kevin

    Kevin YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
  14. Pascal

    Pascal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,345
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I have seen many reports from cruisers in the bahamas using Starlink whether anchored or underway. Apparently, service greatly improved in the bahamas just a few weeks ago
  15. dennismc

    dennismc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,166
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    If you have the Bell receiver and an account, the problem may be that the sat unit may not have a Bell sat signal receiver in the dome, not unusual.
  16. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    You're a little behind, there are numerous ways to mount on the boat. The most common...a fishing rod holder is the exact sizes needed for "pole" coming off the antenna.
    What a lot of people are doing is disconnecting the motors. The antenna is a phased array so really doesn't need the motors. You fool the motors to have the "dishy" (yes) point flat up. Disconnect the motors and then install high enough to clear our other stuff up there. The loss of bandwidth is negligible.
    The next step people are doing is cutting the back off (and the motors) and installing it flat on the hardtop. There's a 43 Nordy out your way that has a really good YouTube on how he did it.

    Another one is, remove the guts or use use the dummy dome if you have one and install it inside.
  17. GPO

    GPO Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    West Vancouver, British Columbia
    That’s why I like this forum. Always learning! Thank you. I’ll look for that YouTube video.
  18. Thisisit

    Thisisit Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Midland, Ontario, Canada
    This is an interesting take. I never thought of that. I know that the boat was originally from the Canadian side of Lake Erie but the owner (now deceased) could have had the sat unit install in Ohio and thus used what I would guess was Direct TV. However, when I first tried to set it up, the control box default satellites were set to Expressvu 82 and 91, which are Bell sats. This has me leaning on the side that the original receiver was Bell.
    Would the upgraded digital signal now being used by the satellite broadcasters still be decoded by a sat unit that was originally built for an analog signal? If so, is there such a thing as an aftermarket digital LNB? I know a few years ago, the LNBs on home dishes had to be replaced for this reason. Still trying to find info on an OEM replacement.
  19. Kevin

    Kevin YF Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc, Canada
    Generally speaking it's only going to get better and better... Starlink is throwing sats up there on a pretty regular basis. I just looked up the SpaceX schedule, and they've got 5 Starlink group launches in July alone.
  20. MBevins

    MBevins Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Windsor On. Canada
    I'm currently in Quebec City, Since here I'm logging an average of 175 down and 8-12 up. With virtually no downtime. While on Lake Champlain the week before, half these numbers if lucky, and 12sec per minute of downtime.
    This whole thing right now is very influx and geographic and Density based.
    That being said, being able to sit in a marina and stream as required with no issues..... priceless.