Click for Burger Click for Nordhavn Click for Cross Click for Burger Click for Westport

Becoming Captain of a 70-200 foot yacht

Discussion in 'Yacht Captains' started by mr.andyrew, Jul 19, 2009.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. mr.andyrew

mr.andyrew New Member

:confused: I'm 14 and i know that i want to become the captain of a 70 to 200 foot sailing yacht. I know i'm young but i've had a lot of sailing experience with my family's multiple under 20 foot sailboats. PLEASE if you have any advice, information, recommendations, etc. on how to get a job as a captain on the previously described yacht please tell me.
  2. Kevin

Kevin YF Moderator

You might want to take some time and scroll through these forums, as well as the Captain's section further down the front page. You'll find plenty of threads discussing what qualifications it takes to one day captain a yacht.
  3. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

I hope this won't put you off, but education and connections are the keys. Plan on going to a good maritime college. Word from you local congressperson could help with admission so send him a letter or e-mail introducing yourself and keep in touch so you're known when the time comes. You're a bit young for a job yet, but maybe you could volunteer at your local sailing club or Yacht Club helping to teach younger kids during the summer.
  4. Capt Bill11

Capt Bill11 Senior Member

Start working now to learn anything and everything you can about boats, their systems and how to maintain them. Learn to varnish, wash and wax, maintain teak decks, tie knots, scuba dive, etc..

Take every chance you get to go on a boat. Even if it's just a day trip. Start getting time on power boats and keep a log of all your trips. Be sure to include the registration information of each boat.

Get a summer or weekend job at a marina.

Learn to navigate, learn how radar works, etc.. There are DVDs and online courses for a lot of this.
  5. NYCAP123