Click for Burger Click for Mulder Click for Cross Click for Abeking Click for Ocean Alexander

Absolute Newbie

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by Jim Nardulli, Jan 22, 2022.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Jim Nardulli

Jim Nardulli New Member

Hello. I joined this forum as part of my effort to learn about boating and boats. I know very little that is specific to boats.

About me:
    62 years old
    Business Owner (design, manufacturing of custom automation machinery together with the integration of industrial robots)
    Pilot, multi engine land, instrument
    Significant mechanical knowledge and experience including cat diesels, building many street rods, etc

Rather than buy a second home for the cold months and vacations, we have been thinking that a mid sized motor yacht (if that is even the right term) might make sense.

There’s zero chance I’d consider operating a vessel of the size I’ve got in mind on my own for the first year. My flying experience leaves me fairly sure that the trip planning, weather awareness, and navigation aspects would not be a problem.

Beyond those things, I’d be starting from ground zero.

Any wisdom or thoughts offered will be received with gratitude.
    Cliff Brown likes this.
  2. JWY

JWY Senior Member

Welcome to YF. Think about a trip to Miami Boat Show. You will get educated in a mind-blowing environment.
  3. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

What do you plan on doing with the yacht? Cruising areas? Speed? Schedule? How many guests?
  4. Jim Nardulli

Jim Nardulli New Member

Generally the Caribbean, not terribly interested in high cruise speed. (That defines my everyday life). My wife and I, 4 adult (2 couples, several grandkids) my current hairbrained concept is that the two of us would live aboard for several months, picking up kids / grandkids / friends for one to two week intervals.
  5. Jim Nardulli

Jim Nardulli New Member

WILCO
  6. Jim Nardulli