Click for Perko Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Furuno Click for YF Listing Service Click for Mulder

3D rapid conceptual design

Discussion in 'Yacht Designers Discussion' started by tartanski, Nov 5, 2004.

1. tartanski

tartanski Member

Hello all,

Aside form being a Naval Architect I have the advantage of working for a major software company, and one of the things I do is develop new and effective ways to work.
    I personally alsways start a new conceptual design in 2D, on paper then in a vector graphics application. This gives me a general idea of the proportions and the style. However at this stage I found my self satisfied with the result, but any non software or boat design person, would look at it and say , its like the ones you used to draw when you were a boy....... This led me to the conclusion that they cant' read the drawing and I had to make a 3D model.

So realisign that i work with the most powerful CAD system in the world (so they say) every day I set to work.

See below image .

Attached Files:

2. snakefeet

snakefeet New Member

I am familiar with the procedure you describe but I've always brought a hand sketch into a CAD program, made 2D drawings and brought the drawings into the modelling program. Then I can also export the CAD lines to a vector graphics program to make presentation images if I want to.

What software did you use in making these images? It looks like an interesting tool. Are the flat images raster files exported from the vector graphics app or is there a way to bring the vector graphics into the modelling program?
  3. JonS

JonS Senior Member

Personally the way i do it, is putting the sketch into AutoCAD, then neatenin it up in there, then importing the flat image from AutoCAD into Alias where it is very easy to do 3D modelling. Then once the design is finalised in Alias you can select what you want to export to a dxf file which can then be re-imported to AutoCAD and then a technical, 3D drawing is produced.