Click for Cross Click for YF Listing Service Click for Burger Click for Nordhavn Click for Ocean Alexander

1st real sportsfisher

Discussion in 'Bertram Yacht' started by TWENTY B, Jun 10, 2012.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. TWENTY B

TWENTY B New Member

G'day guys.
    I've had a few small trailerboats over the years but now i'm looking to get something a bit more serious, something myself and the mrs can weekend aboard, or me and the boys can go offshore and do some serious game fishing on.
    And what better way than aboard a mid 80's bertram flybridge.

I'm hoping to absorb as much info as i can from you experienced owners before making the plunge.

I'd love a detailed brochure of size and weights, comfigurations etc. if anyone can help me out there.
    important info in deciding what to buy as i'll be restricted by size and weight for towing it on the streets without special permits.

I'm an electrician by trade and plan on doing alot of work to it myself but i'll probably get one thats had a recent repower.

anyway, G'day from Sydney and happy Boating.
    Just finishing work at 6am and going fishing.
  2. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

What's your budget, what size range are you looking at, and what are you looking to do with it?

Honestly, I'd rather have a 36' Hatteras SF over any mid 30's Bertram's from the 80's. The 36' Hatteras is a big boat for it's size, built just as stout, and I think a better seaboat.
  3. TWENTY B

TWENTY B New Member

My pockets aren't very deep so I'm looking for as cheep as possible really.
    But efficient running costs and maintenance are more important than cosmetic appearance, that's something I can work on myself.
    So probably 50k max. The less I spend on buying it, the more I have to customize it. Or put in the fuel tank and enjoy it.

Needs to be on a trailer for me to work on it and store it at home. Inboard motor/out drive leg would be best for me.