Click for Burger Click for Glendinning Click for Nordhavn Click for Westport Click for Westport

1984 46 post fuel consumption estimates

Discussion in 'Post Yacht' started by Posterboy91, Dec 12, 2017.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Posterboy91

Posterboy91 New Member

Hello everyone,

I finally closed on my purchase of a 1984 46 with DD 450hp. i have gotten all the major systems up and running in the last week and now i am running the boat from new jersey to florida over the next few weeks before a real winter storm closes me out and i am forced to winterize the boat. i am new to Post and have been trying to determine what the burn rate will be. Some people i have met that own Posts have told me as low as 25GPH and i have heard as high as 45GPH. With this large of a gap i was hoping to get some input from the owners on the site here. Since i heard someone say 45GPH i have been very concerned with my range per day and figuring out ports to pull into on the way down
  2. Hermen Ferraz

Hermen Ferraz Member

Hello, welcome i am also new to post have some input for you. I have an 88 46 Post but i have the 6v92 with 550hp. I bought it in north St. Petersburg and drove hit home to Miami. I hold about 630 gallons of fuel and if my math was correct i wasted between 28-32 GPH on the trip home cruising at 20knots. Hope this helps and welcome you’re going to fall in love with the Post i have.
  3. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

What engines are in it? 6-71 TA's? 25 gph seems awefully hopeful. 30-35 GPH sounds about right for the pair. But I don't have a lot of experience with the 6-71's
  4. RT46

RT46 Senior Member

I attached a fuel graph for 671 TIs
    I understand if your engines are running correctly and you can get max load WOT your fuel burn is going to be really close if not exact.

I have 671 TIBs and I follow this graph pretty closely.
    I don't have floscans.