Click for Mulder Click for Burger Click for Westport Click for Mag Bay Click for JetForums

100 foot vs 120 foot MY

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by seascot, Dec 29, 2013.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. seascot

seascot New Member

Hello all,
    I am new to YF and am presently in the market for a MY in the 100 to 120 foot range , there is a vast amount of information to be filterd through regarding large motor yachts... I am trying to find out if there is a posting that deals in comparing the various manufacturers...I am presently leaning toward the Nordhavn 120...but find the price hard to understand when looking at comparable yachts..any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you
  2. olderboater

olderboater Senior Member

You mention 100 vs. 120 and then talk about comparable to Nordhavn 120. That makes me think perhaps you're comparing to 100's. Having recently been through much of this exercise, there is a huge difference between 100's and 120's. The beam is normally greater and the displacement much greater, more than the length would imply. The cost may be 50% to 100% more for a 120 versus a 100. A Nordhavn 120 is 849,000 pounds with a beam of 27'11". Compared to their 87', that's not 35 or 40% more boat, that's over 110% more boat, more than twice the boat. A Hatteras 100 is 270,000 pounds.

So first, in the same brand 120 vs. 100 there is a significant difference. But then from one brand to another even more difference.

Now my search came to the following conclusion. Owners choosing the 80' range were often happy for a long period. But those who chose from a manufacturer who had a 100 and a 116 often traded up, and those who chose a 112 from one brand I'm very familiar with quickly found themselves trading up to a 130.