Click for Mulder Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Cross Click for JetForums Click for Mulder

Size matters...

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by lightspeed72, Jul 17, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. lightspeed72

lightspeed72 New Member

Hi Folks,

I am new too the forum and what an education it has been. Just reading and following the threads has been such an education in the ins and outs of boats and all the behind the scenes stories that the glitzy websites don't reveal to you about. What a great collection of people here. :)

As far as my boating experience is concern, I was a scuba instructor for 4 years...in that time I had some great fun driving and crewing a variety of launches, dive boats, sailboats, etc. Nonetheless, I consider myself a neophyte when it comes to boating.

So here is my question for you, I would love to get into a Princess 72, as it has all the size, comfort and luxuries I am looking for. However, is that just too much boat for owner/operator? I have also looked at the Princess/Viking 63, which feels much more manageable, but in terms of elbow room, I am tending to lean toward the 72.

I guess it all comes down to experience and sea time, as well as courses and proper instruction. But having taken care of all that, how reasonable is it to run a 72 on my own?

Would love to hear your thoughts on all that.

Cheers!!
  2. Capt Bill11

Capt Bill11 Senior Member

It's not unreasonable for a 70+ foot boat to be owner operated. But there is a lot of maintenance involved.
    And most owners don't have the time and skill to deal with that on a boat of that size. So you might want to consider hiring a mechanically inclined mate.
  3. PropBet

PropBet Senior Member

Welcome to the forum.