Click for Glendinning Click for Abeking Click for Nordhavn Click for Mag Bay Click for Ocean Alexander

Researching Fairline, Azimut, Princess or Sea Ray Yachts

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by CheckMate67, Oct 2, 2015.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. CheckMate67

CheckMate67 New Member

I have just begun the research process of buying a small yacht. I'm considering something like a used
    58ft Fairline, Azimut, Princess or Sea Ray motor yacht. I need some general info.
    1. I know its not an exact science but would I be safe to consider about 10% of my $400,000.00 vessel budget per year in expense to operate? I would be cruising the Mediterranean about 3 months out of the year.
    2. Are Azimut boats a controversial brand?
    3. is a 10-15 year old boat a bad investment if it has been serviced regularly?
    4. How well do boats of this size handle trips across the Mediterranean?
    I'm just a newbie to this and I appreciate any feed back.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2015
  2. olderboater

olderboater Senior Member

1. That should be a fairly safe assumption. My warning is that if you come under that in one year, make sure you save it so you can cover the years of major work.
    2. Yes, they are. However, they are more strongly disliked in the US than in Europe and much of that is wiring and other factors that might be less of a problem there.
    3. No, not a bad investment, if the boat and engines are surveyed and the condition is good.
    4. I'll leave crossing the Med to some of our members who spend a lot of time in that area.
  3. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

1) Actually you should consider 10% of the new boat price. As they get older it could far exceed that. One blown motor alone would cost you twice that, and it becomes more likely the older the boat.
    2) I suggest you put each of those brands into the search feature here, especially Azimut. There's a lot been written.