Click for Delta Click for YF Listing Service Click for Mulder Click for Westport Click for Northern Lights

MEC3 for Uk citizen

Discussion in 'Yacht Captains' started by Mikeyessir, Jan 3, 2015.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Mikeyessir

Mikeyessir New Member

Hello,

I have 8 years experience in engineering and left Royal Navy submarine service as a junior engineer after 4 years service.

I have bin working in and around yachts as an engineer for four years now.

Currently a chief engineer on a private 35m but still on AEC unlicensed. Still awaiting MCA assessment which should arrive around March this year.

I have seen the MEC3 online in NZ and is a 30week course open to Uk citizens aslong as you have the pre requisites....

So to take this course would mean almost a year out of yachting but would give me a commercial ticket for the future and help progress my career.

However it will cost a fair amount but I imagine it will pay itself off if I can get to Y3 level using this course.

Or am I totally wrong and been mistaken with what I've read?

Any help would be great because I don't want to be stick in yachting for ever, would be nice to have options open.

I can't do a Uk cadetship because I started one before and didn't finish for whatever reason that doesn't matter here.

Thanks in advance
  2. captholli

captholli Senior Member