Click for Delta Click for Abeking Click for Northern Lights Click for Westport Click for Comfort

Living on a yacht?

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by 2k9, Jul 29, 2008.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. 2k9

2k9 New Member

I am new to yachting and i am looking at living on my yacht in the future. I was wondering if anyone who has done it or doing it now could give me their insight. pros, cons, it would all be helpful. Some general rules on size maybe. I have been looking at a budget of near 300,000. i like the style and size of the 40-50 ft motoryachts. Thank you.
  2. Pascal

Pascal Senior Member

lol... i never thought of it in these words... "living on a yacht" :)

if that helps, I live on a boat... a 53' Hatteras (old one.. 1970)

Cons? there are none! Pros? where do i start? being on the water, having the whole biscayne bay as my backyard and most importantly being able to drop the lines and live the dock at any time without worrying about bringing food, drinks or a change of clothes. it's all there. love it!

seriously, the down side is if you live up north and it's cold for 6 months and you have to deal with snow, iced water lines, no pump out, etc... i guess that's not fun.

heck, even hurricanes are better on a boat... I can move my boat from under the bullseye, try that with a house :)

General rules on size? well... some folks live aboard 27 foot sailboats and use marina bathrooms... so it all comes down to you.

I think a good liveaboard boat is one that will provide all the comforts of home (full size galley, comfortable heads, decent staterooms, washer/dryer, etc...).

having enough space and privacy is important, especially if you're married or have kids. I like the layout of the classic Hatteras because the master is all the way down the lower companionway, unlike some boats in the 40' range where the master opens up right in the saloon,just a couple of steps down.