Click for Northern Lights Click for Perko Click for Nordhavn Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Burger

Hello

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by Wilson, Feb 15, 2005.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Wilson

Wilson New Member

I'm very new to this, so I was wondering if someone could point me to some sites for newbies that are interested in buying a yacht.

I'm looking for something that I could take from San Francisco to Costa Rica and back, once in a while. (Since I'm hoping to buy some property down there, any insight into this would also be helpful)

I been buying all the yacht mags for several months trying to read up on the yachts.. but there is so much to learn.

Also how feasable is it to make a trip down to Costa Rica? What type of yachts would be needed for a trip like this?

Thanks in advance for your help. I've been dreaming about owning a yacht since I was a kid and now I think I'm old enough to have one ;)

Wilson
  2. YachtForums

YachtForums Administrator

Welcome aboard Wilson!

If you can be a little more specific, I'm sure some of our members can help you narrow down your search. Give 'em an idea on the size and accomodations you're looking for. I'm at the Miami Show for the next few days, so I'll chime-in later.

Come on guys, lend a hand...
  3. awayocean

awayocean New Member

Welcome.

Sail or power,100 000$ or 1 000 000$ boat?
  4. Wilson

Wilson New Member

Ok here's where reality and my dreams probably won't click...

I would love to have power instead of sail and for me and my fiancé, something between 45’-60’ would be preferable. I’ve seen quite a few of these advertised for under $500k U.S. which would also fit around the price range..

But I guess all of this doesn’t mean anything, if power yachts can’t handle the range and I have to think about sailboats instead. (S.F. to Costa Rica with minimal fuel stops).