Click for Delta Click for Perko Click for YF Listing Service Click for Mulder Click for Ocean Alexander

Can a retired Airman own a yacht?

Discussion in 'Hatteras Yacht' started by Retire2Cruise, Sep 15, 2015.

1. Retire2Cruise

Retire2Cruise New Member

Hi all,

I've been creeping a few weeks now through the boards. I've seen different takes and opinions on a variety of MYs between 43-70'. I'm a diesel mechanic, HVAC certified, sharp with electrical systems. The typical jack of trades Uncle Sam has trained me to be. Out side of that, he doesn't pay Jack Doodle!

I'll have served 24 yrs at the end of it all and my retirement check is no secret, $2400 pm. I will continue to work, due to necessity. My wife and I were thinking of owning a home for 10 years first, then selling to invest in a Hatteras CPMY, or aft deck.

My questions are:
    1. Should I just get a bass boat and forego the dream?
    2. If I doc for months on end to scrimp and save for a day cruise, is it worth it?
    3. I understand there's only so much maintenance I can do...what say you?

Thanks for your no-holds-bar inputs!
    Newb to cruising
  2. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

I'd go for the bass boat and the home. If you can do that and save enough to buy that yacht in 10 years, you might be able to afford the upkeep (given what your skills may save you). You can easily spend upwards of $100K a year on that size boat, especially if you actually cruise. Maybe you'll even eventually sell the home and retire onto it. Plus, you could well be dead in 10 years. Dreams are wonderful, but they're no substitute for enjoying today.

P.S. The bass boats are more fun and you'll use them a lot more than you will any yacht.