Click for YF Listing Service Click for Westport Click for Furuno Click for Nordhavn Click for Mulder

55' Roamer Speed Capability

Discussion in 'Chris Craft Roamer Yacht' started by AllPoints, May 17, 2016.

1. AllPoints

AllPoints New Member

So we just purchased our 55' Roamer we were planning on taking the trip from Buffalo to Cleveland today.
    The broker insists the boat should run at 18-20Knots, which would make the trip about 10 hours.

BUT, the previous owner says he consistently runs the ship at 10Knots making the trip 20 hours. The owner says the ship will go that fast but burns through the fuel.

The broker specializes in Chris Craft Yachts says he moved the sister ship a few years back and easily ran at 20Kn.

The ship has dual 8V71Turbo charged engines.

I'm very new to a ship this size. Would I be pushing the engines hard running at 18-20Kn? Was the previous owner just babying the ship for the past 20 years?

Any help from the community would be welcome.

Thank You
    -Captain James
    IMG_0451.JPG
  2. JimmyL

JimmyL Member

I'm not sure what your question is but diesels like/need to be worked but the added fuel cost makes it expensive to run at that speed not to mention the passenger comfort and the sheer pleasure of the trip. Picture your kid hammering the throttle of your prized Eldorado around town... It can be done but why?? My boat will also do 20 knts which is great when needed and I'll run it up there every once in a while just to exercise the power but 10-12 kn is where she likes to be and is the sweet spot for economy.
  3. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

The sweet spot for those motors should be about 80% of max RPM, HOWEVER if the previous owner constantly ran at 10kts. I'd keep a real close eye on the temp and oil pressure guages, and watch for oil leaks.