Click for Benetti
Click for Quantum
Click for Westport
Click for Glendinning
Click for Nautical Structures
Click for Burger
Go Back   YachtForums.Com > CAPTAINS & CREWS > Yacht Crews > looking for info on a yacht called "TRUST" in holland

Login to YachtForums
Username
Password

Reply

looking for info on a yacht called "TRUST" in holland

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2008, 11:01 AM   #1
craigbellamy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: thailand
Posts: 4
looking for info on a yacht called "TRUST" in holland

I'm looking for info on a motor yacht "TRUST" supposedly in Holland. If anyone has anything on this yacht(builder, marina ect) please reply.
My girlfriend is meant to fly to holland with no visa to join the yacht, I'm just concerned as she needs a schengen visa for Europe.
craigbellamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:20 PM   #2
K1W1
Senior Member
 
K1W1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: My Office
Posts: 841
Hi,

What nationality is your girlfriend?

If she is going to join a boat she should at least have a notification of employment from the ship oir it's owners. She should also have some contact details with either or how did she get the job in the first place?

If she needs a Schengen Visa then I seriously doubt she will be admitted to any Schengen country by air without one.
__________________
Cheers,

K1W1
K1W1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 08:21 PM   #3
craigbellamy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: thailand
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply,

My girlfriends from Bali the agent that is organising it all is from Jakarta. They generally deal with Commercial ships, they are bbudiman@hotmail.com She's been a sole stew for the last 2 years on a yacht travelling thru Asia. I'm Aussie on a yacht in France so its hard to try and work out.

I have told her she won't be able to enter Europe without a visa first, the agent has said and she has had an interview with the Capt that they are paying for the flight ect to the yacht.

She's 20yrs old so I'm just worried that there maybe no yacht, I can not find it in any seach engines or websites. It is 50m yacht for charter so you should be able to find it some where.......
craigbellamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 09:14 PM   #4
NYCAP123
Senior Member
 
NYCAP123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 342
Adventure. It's a wonderful thing. Let's not be stupid though. You need only pick up any newspaper in any town or country to know what is waiting for the careless and trusting. This sounds like a girl about to disappear.
An interview is a two-way street. Nobody should go to a job in another country without verifying every fact. Verify that phones you are calling are not disposable cell phones. Verify physical addresses for agents, and the vessel's owners or their companies (not P.O. boxes or web addresses). Verify the vessel's documentation and ownership and leave that info and a copy of the captain's credentials with a trusted family member. Also set up and follow a contact schedule. Most of all listen to that little voice inside. That's called instinct. Trust it, not a phantom boat called Trust.
Finally, never put yourself into a position where you can't leave whether that's because of a lack of funds or someone holds your papers, etc. What would your response be if I said to you: "I have a great job for you. Meet me 200 meters inside that forrest at 3 AM and come alone"? Not much difference if you think about it.
NYCAP123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 10:07 PM   #5
Codger
YF Wisdom Dept.
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 779
Try calling any of the major charter agencies in Europe. Even if they don't list that particular yacht they'll have information on it if it is on the charter market.
Codger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 10:24 PM   #6
vivariva
Registered User
 
vivariva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 46
What is the vessel's port of registry? Is it in The Netherlands? She should go to the consulate of the yacht's registered country and ask the consular staff to contact the maritime registry or the department of transportation to verify the info. The office of the commercial attaché might be of help too.

Seldom is a 50 meter yacht registered in The Netherlands, usually Barbados or other countries are used for taxation purposes. If that is the case, the process mentioned above might take longer. The 'owner' might not be listed personally; a firm just created for this purpose would be holding the yacht's title. It would be quite difficult to obtain any information since the company would be private.

Finally, because your girlfriend does not have a visa, she could be taken into custody for one day by the border police and sent back home the following day. A merchant marine credential might be an exception to her case, but if she is denied entry, it would be much harder for her to get a visa in the future. This would affect all the Schengen entries in Europe as their computers are linked. Remember, a non-official document is just supplementary info for official matters. I hope this was somewhat helpful.
vivariva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 11:51 PM   #7
K1W1
Senior Member
 
K1W1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: My Office
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigbellamy
Thanks for the reply,

My girlfriends from Bali the agent that is organising it all is from Jakarta. They generally deal with Commercial ships, they are bbudiman@hotmail.com

Hi,

This whole thing stinks to me.

Is this disposable e mail addy the only way of contacting the "agent"

I would not be surprised if this were as is suggested above a scam to get her into Europe and it wouldn't be to be as a stewardess but more like a hostess in a land based operation.
__________________
Cheers,

K1W1
K1W1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 02:31 PM   #8
GrahamF
Senior Member
 
GrahamF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palma Spain/ South Africa
Posts: 300
I agree with K1W1. The airline wount allow her on the plane without a visa. The hotmail account this also abit of a worry. Tell your girlfriend not to go anywhere. If she did not receive any details from the captain then that is a bit worrisome.
GrahamF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 10:37 PM   #9
NYCAP123
Senior Member
 
NYCAP123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 342
Trust

Craigbellamy,
Sent you a PM on this, but want to make sure you're aware as I'm sure you're concerned for your girl. The boat is legit. Make sure she takes all the precautions listed above with any job, but last night I read a thread about the new Hakvoort 45m charter yacht "My Trust" being launched under the Dutch flag.
Everybody has been searching for the M/V Trust instead of the M/V My Trust.
__________________
"Some went down to the sea in ships."
NYCAP123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are EST. The time now is 04:52 PM.

Click for Moonen
Click for Heesen
Click for ISA
Click for Lazzara
Click for Moonen
Click for Oceanco


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 2.3.3