Click for Mulder Click for Northern Lights Click for JetForums Click for Mulder Click for Burger

Novice question on fuel economy

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by Berrie, Jul 19, 2014.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Berrie

Berrie New Member

Currently not close to a port - Albany, GA
    I have been boating for the last 20 years, but only with bowriders up to 20'.
    As retirement age is closing in, so is the desire to move up to a larger boat - preferably a 40 - 48' aft cabin and take it for a loop. The Great Loop that is.

Sooooo......
    Looking online at boats and reading up on forums like these, it seems there is a significant difference in fuel usage on different boats. And since I don't have any experience with larger boats, please excuse my ignorance on the matter :eek:.

Most aft cabins are cruisers or express cruisers with dual diesels producing over 600hp, getting at best 2MPG. Some trawlers have a single 120hp Lehman diesel and are very fuel efficient; some report as little as 6MPG. However, I haven't found any trawlers with an interior that would be acceptable to my better half.

So, since we are not interested in high speed cruising, that raised some questions.
    The low powered trawlers are fuel efficient because they run at most at hull speed. The cruisers need the high power to cruise well above hull speed.
    So what happens to fuel efficiency when you run a cruiser at hull speed?

Also, is there any concern running only one of the two engines, alternating them? You'll need about 15hp per 10,000lbs to reach hull speed, so 45hp for a 30,000lbs boat; each 320hp Cat can produce that running just a tad over idle. And would that really help with fuel efficiency, or will you use a lot of fuel just to keep that big engine spinning?

Looking forward to your opinions!
    Thank you.
    Berrie
  2. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member