Click for Abeking Click for JetForums Click for Abeking Click for Glendinning Click for Cross

Water in propeller tube

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by Capt Fred, Jul 13, 2014.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Capt Fred

Capt Fred Senior Member

Captains and engineers, I'm working on a Warwick 21 meter, Aluminum hull sailboat with water in the propeller tube. The tube is sealed with lip seals, two bearings and runs in oil. All were replaced at haul out just a few months ago. We recently noted water in the tube and there has not been more than a few hours of running since the haul out. I'm new to propeller tubes, is this indicative of a problem with the seals or should one expect some water leaking into the tube. Thanks
  2. captholli

captholli Senior Member

Hi Capt. Fred,
    There shouldn't be any water in your oil bath drive. Do you know the manufacturer? Do you have a thrust bearing behind the gearbox? Do you have temp sensors on the system and is your oil header tank milky? Other than the stern seals, you might have a pressurized coupling if you have a tail shaft that could have lost its nitrogen charge allowing water ingress. pure speculation at this point not knowing the make and mod.
  3. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

There can be a number of ways for water to get into the oil.

If you use a good quality stern tube such as Vickers Hydrox a bit of water will not do any harm.

How does the oil circulate in your arrangement?
  4. captholli

captholli Senior Member

I can only assume that your vessel would have a cam pump or a "Knock Pump"
    that runs off the prop shaft rotation Fwd. of the thrust bearing if one is fitted? Since its on a smaller install aboard a sailing vessel does it have a cooler or heat exchanger? Besides the header tank, is there an expansion / overflow tank aft? Manufacturer is key here, I see that your vessel was built in N.Z. Now they're building in Turkey?
  5. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member