Click for Westport Click for Burger Click for JetForums Click for Abeking Click for Delta

Synthetic teak- which ones seem to be the best

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by Capt J, May 6, 2014.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

I have a yacht I manage that the owner wants to replace the thin teak deck with a synthetic teak deck for less maintanence. He currently is considering Flexi-Teak and Bogantech. I have gotten quotes for both, but the material is significantly different between the two products. I have little experience with the synthetic teak, except for one yacht I run occasionally that went with Flexi Teak over 2 years ago and it's not showing any signs of wear. The boat being considered, the teak sits exposed to full sunlight all of the time and is not in the shade at all.

What's everyone's experiences with either product? Is there another product that is better quality than both of them?
  2. K1W1

K1W1 Senior Member

Hi,

I am under the impression that all synthetic teaks get very hot in the sun and can actually burn skin.
  3. SeaEric

SeaEric YF Historian

For Flexiteek, if you look at the back of the color sample piece of the material - that is the (darker) color that it will eventually become in time. They have some lighter colors now. I would advise that you get some samples and lay them out in the sun and see what you think of the heat factor. I'd also look at Plasdeck. I like their colors better.
  4. water-baby

water-baby Member

I would stay away from Bogantech.

And this is why: I was looking at them at the Miami show and got a sample
    I also got samples from plasdeck< I let them sit out in the sun and weather and after about 1 month the Bogantech came apart! im not sure if it would make a difference if it was glued down or not but from wat I've seen I would be afraid to find out.

The plasdeck still looks good as new.