Click for Burger Click for Nordhavn Click for Burger Click for Perko Click for Cross

Cummins v8 na 320hp

Discussion in 'Engines' started by Santelia, Aug 29, 2011.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Santelia

Santelia Member

La Maddalena, Porto Santo Stefano, Grado.
    Hi everybody,
    I'm considering to buy a boat with twin Cummins V8 natural aspired 320hp (903 model?). Has anyone any experience with those old boys? General reliability? Useful lifetime? The boat is a 49' full displacement, so she cruises on 10-11kn and has max at 15kn. Any opinion on fuel consumption with such engines at hull speed?
  2. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

I have no experience with the Cummins 903's, but have always heard that they were good motors and lasted a long time.
  3. Santelia

Santelia Member

Hi Capt J,
    thank you for your opinion.
    Any idea on how much smokey are the Cummins 903s?
    And typical lifecycle for such a use?
  4. Freespool

Freespool New Member

All the good 903 mechanics are to old to get in the engine room anymore.

Good engines. A little smokey at cold start up. They like to run a lot. The more they run the less trouble they give you.
  5. Santelia

Santelia Member

Thank you Freespool,
    so, would I have to hire some whitehaired paleo-mechanic to make any extensive servicing? :D
  6. Freespool

Freespool New Member

I think they quit making them in 1984 or so for civilian use. I built many of them years ago. The last one I worked on was probably 7 to 10 years ago.
  7. dennismc

dennismc Senior Member

Cummins

I would question the 15 kts wot on a full displacement hull with that HP.
  8. Santelia

Santelia Member

Ok Freespool, so you could be a precious source of first-hand information.

@ dennismc, do you mean that 2x320hp are not enough or that a 49' full displacement has a structural limit at a slower speed?
  9. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member