Click for Walker Click for YF Listing Service Click for Mulder Click for Mag Bay Click for JetForums

Post 42 cruise speed

Discussion in 'Post Yacht' started by Gambetica, Apr 26, 2014.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Gambetica

Gambetica Member

I've Been working on my post 42" 1978 for several months, i'm about a month to take it for the First cruise since doing a full maintainance on the engines (original ones rebuild with 300 hours) new flybridge, replace wood for fyber glass, Maitance on the bottom, i have take it off a lot of weight.

When i bought the boat, it Was abandoned (pay around 15.000$) and exactly dont now what to expect on cruise speed.

We are doing a little wager with my friends on the marina and they say it wont past 13 knots. I Kind of expect 15 Knots on research i have done, the sea here in venezuela can be rough (but the fishing is amazing).

What would be a nice estimate?

Thanks

Juan
  2. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

Can you offer a lil more to guess with? What engines and HP? Ratios? I'm guessing 6-71 ti or tib's but guessing.
  3. Gambetica

Gambetica Member

Great guessing! They are Detroit 6-71 238 hp. Naturals (they are No turbo charged)
  4. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

Just found your other post on your Post. Great pictures. Was heading back to this post and you already responded.
    15 to 17 knots cruise around 1800 to 1900.

I ran a 44 Striker with the 6-71Ns (4valve head) with N90 injectors and cruised @ 16. May have had a bit more over the N60s but never re-propped. However, never lost RPM on the back of a swell.

You have a great ship there and a good reliable package. Keep us up.

Gad I love you Post kids. May need to find one myself.

,rc
  5. Gambetica

Gambetica Member

Thanks, this is how i founded guess with those props 3knots where the MAx speed. Lol

Attached Files:

6. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

Time for an oyster roast.

71s rule,
    rc