Click for Abeking Click for Westport Click for Northern Lights Click for Westport Click for YF Listing Service

Living on a Yacht?

Discussion in 'Popular Yacht Topics' started by DragonRyu, May 11, 2006.

1. DragonRyu

DragonRyu New Member

I'm new to this and actually never thought about it... but I got the idea of buying a yacht, instead of buying a house (and having to deal with the hassle of mowing lawns, patios, pests and noisy neighbours). Now, I would like to know if it is a good, bad idea, or is it going to be more expensive/cheaper, or anything else. I know it would be more exciting, since I like moving around and visiting new places. If there is anybody who currently lives in his/her yacht, please let me know how it's been for you, and if it was worth it or not, and what recommendations you might have (yacht size, number of floors, engine/fuel type).

Thank you.
  2. sailronin

sailronin Senior Member

If you are talking "yacht" it is MUCH more expensive than a house, upkeep is multiple times what a house is and dock rent is expensive. Many people don't realize that you can't just stop and set up "housekeeping" anywhere you please (see the post When is an anchorage not...).

Living aboard a "boat" can be fairly inexpensive, although it is not free by any means.

Good luck

Dave
  3. YachtForums

YachtForums Administrator

Few people can offer greater wisdom than Sailronin on this subject, but you’ve raised a question that more people are beginning to ask. With the price of waterfront property exceeding the cost of many yachts, the live-aboard concept is becoming an option that more people are beginning to consider.

Much of this decision rests on your priorities (and abilities)…