Click for Northern Lights Click for Abeking Click for Westport Click for Cross Click for Ocean Alexander

Seattle to Vancouver; suggestions please...

Discussion in 'Marinas & Waypoints' started by YachtForums, May 26, 2009.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. YachtForums

YachtForums Administrator

Hi all,

I'm touring several yards in the PacNW from June 16th to the 26th. Planning to stay in British Columbia over the weekend and hit Whistler for a white water rafting trip. Looking for suggestions on...

1. Points of interest ranging from Portland, OR to Vancouver, BC driving I-5.

2. White water rafting trip near Whistler, or surrounding area. (class 4)

3. Would like to take a ferry trip. Which one is best, most scenic?

Suggestions greatly appreciated and much needed. I'm a NW newbie!
  2. captain_jack

captain_jack New Member

Ok, bust out your maps.

The most scenic ferry ride you could take would be from Annacortes to the San Juan islands. This would be an all day type of trip, its a drive on ferry, so you take the car if you want, to drive around on some of the islands.

The same ferry also continues on to Sydney, B.C., on Vancouver Island, where you could get a connecting ferry to Tsawwassen, B.C. which is 20 minutes south of Vancouver.

If you are looking for a shorter trip, but still want the ferry experience, try the Mukilteo to Clinton ferry. From Clinton you could drive north on Whidbey Island, then loop back to the 5 freeway near Mount Vernon.

Be aware that some ferries get very busy in the summer. Waits for the Mukilteo-Clinton run were more than 3 hours early in the day this past Friday.

Here is a link to the Washington State ferry system website,
    http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/ferries/
    you can make reservations on some of the boats, as well as view webcams from the loading areas.