Click for YF Listing Service Click for Burger Click for Cross Click for Abeking Click for Walker

1985 Hatteras 70' CPMY Fuel Consumption Rates?

Discussion in 'Hatteras Yacht' started by Live Wire, Mar 29, 2011.

1. Live Wire

Live Wire New Member

In the process of buying a 70' 1985 Hatteras CPMY. I have to find the most economical way to get her from Aventura FL to Boston Harbor. Does anyone have any fuel consumption experience for this boat with twin 12v71 Detroit diesels? Anyone know of any services who "ship" yacht's (on a container ship??) Thanks!
  2. Bamboo

Bamboo Senior Member

Of course speed is perhaps the biggest determinant of fuel burn- you go faster you'll burn more per mile. At 10 knots you may burn up to 15-20 GPH (gallons per hour), both engines with a gen set running. At 20 knots you'll quadruple that.
  3. Capt J

Capt J Senior Member

I have extensive experience with a yacht very similar to yours and do a lot of deliveries. I've put 10,000nm's on a 75' Hatteras MY with 12v71's TI's. At cruise (1950 rpms) you're looking at close to 90gph at 17 knots.

For fuel efficiency, if you run the yacht at 1000 rpms, you'll burn 12-15 gph (total) at around 10 knots, at 800 rpms 10 gph and 8.5 knots. At these slower speeds you'll have to run the engines up to cruise for 30 minutes, at least every 6 hours to clean them out some recommend every 4hrs but it really depends on how clean they run, but should average 1.5 Gallons Per Mile or close to it even including running it up. I did the entire Great Loop this way in 2008. We left Fort Laud with a crew of 4 and our first stop was Beufort, NC (550nm's away and 750 gallons).
  4. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member