Click for JetForums Click for Abeking Click for Glendinning Click for Nordhavn Click for Perko

New to this...

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by mikey_mike1234, Sep 25, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. mikey_mike1234

mikey_mike1234 New Member

Right now Alberta Canada, far from the sea :o(
    Hello,

I am new to this and have tons of questions... I'm thinking about purchasing a catamaran (40 footer or so) and to charter it to guests. It would probably be run as a couple so I was just wondering what kind of licenses would be required. Anything from liquor license to sailing in the waters of other countries and in international waters. Also could I have an example of the kind of insurance would be needed for this type of boating, and any ballpark figures?? Feel free to comment and/or to add if there is anything else I should know on this subject.
    Thanks
    :)
  2. Pascal

Pascal Senior Member

it's really impossible to answer your questions since requirements will vary by location, not just country but possibly state/province.

generally speaking, you will need a captains license. in the US that woudl be an OUPV aka six pack if you don't carry more than 6 passengers. more than 6 passengers and you need a Masters (need to be US citizen for the master though). over 6 passengers the boat need to be USCG inspected which includes many safety modifications like higher rails, fireproofing, etc...

there are no issues with alcohol on charter boats in the US unless some locations may have local rules.