Click for Cross Click for Burger Click for Furuno Click for Westport Click for Abeking

Help in choosing sub-85 foot yacht

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by olivier, Sep 4, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. olivier

olivier New Member

Hey everyone!

My first post here.. looks like a great forum and very friendly people!
    I'm 30 years old and an internet entrepreneur. I've done pretty well and put my residence in monaco. Over this summer I've spent my first time on a yacht with a friend.. and I totally fell in love with it! Now I'm looking to buy/charter my first yacht. I'll tell you how much money I have to spare on it. On a monthly basis I'm willing to give a max of 5k / month, and as a purchase price a maximum of 500k. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to these things, so I don't know if 5k/month budget is enough to properly maintain a boat that size. These prices are also my 'maximum' (money I can comfortably lay aside). On top of that, I want to start using the boat at the french riviera, during summer. I'm not sure yet about the options in winter. Maybe cruise the norther parts of europe, it might have its charms. However I might find out I don't like that, and then I'm just stuck with a boat for summers only.
    You might think chartering is an option, but from what I've seen it costs like 30-40k a week? Maybe there are cheaper boats to charter? But at that price I might as well buy one. Let me tell you what I would consider my 'dream boat' right now. I'm not sure if my budget can get something like that, so I will just list the things I'm looking for in order of priority.

- Low maintenance
    - Easy to operate
    - Ability to go out on your own without crew (maybe start off with 1 captain to learn you the tricks)
    - Family/friends should be able to stay and enjoy it too
    - At least 3 bedrooms (2 double beds, 1 with 2 seperate beds)