Click for JetForums Click for Nordhavn Click for Burger Click for Ocean Alexander Click for Burger

Bringing a Buyer to a Broker?

Discussion in 'General Yachting Discussion' started by tonymaz, Jul 1, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. tonymaz

tonymaz New Member

Hi Everyone, I am currently employed as the Mate on a yacht that is for sale in FL. I have recently found a previous business partner of mine that is very interested in the purchase of the yacht I work on. Though I am not a Broker I do believe I should be compensated with a portion of the commission of the sale if I have brought the buyer to the table. Since I have no experience in the sale of yachts, I am unsure of what is considered to be the correct way of handling this with our yachts broker. Any and all advice would be welcome. Thanks.
  2. NYCAP123

NYCAP123 Senior Member

Send a PM to JWY and yachbrokerguy. They're both in your area and will be able to give you good advice.
  3. PropBet

PropBet Senior Member

I've taken several buyers to my broker. While I didn't specifically ask for a cut of the deal, my interest was seeing that my colleagues were well taken care of by an honest broker that went the extra mile, as he has done for me in times past.

Needless to say, I've never bought a meal or paid for drinks while visiting my brokers town, and every year, I'm well taken care of around the holidays with my favorite cigars and cases of wine.

I can do math just as he does, and I've certainly gotten the long end of the stick. While smokes, drinks and dinner may not be your flavor, talk to a few brokers as recommended earlier in the thread and ask what protocol is on how to approach the issue with a broker. Judy (JWY) yachtbrokerguy I know are all well respected and should be able to point you in the right direction.
  4. coastaldrifter

coastaldrifter New Member

Hello Tony here is an opinion from a maritime lawyer.I hope it helps you out.
    CAN FINDER’S FEES