Click for Burger Click for Nordhavn Click for Furuno Click for Walker Click for Mulder

58' Bertram FBMY - opinions?

Discussion in 'Bertram Yacht' started by Grimreaper105, Jan 27, 2012.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. Grimreaper105

Grimreaper105 New Member

Setting sail for Murrells Inlt South Carolina
    Hi,
    I hope I can steal some knowledge off this forum. I have been boating for 15 years now. I have had two boats, a 1988 292 Ultra Sun Runner, and a 40’ Silverton ACMY. I have just retired and we are looking at four 58’ Bertram FBMY’s. They range from 1976 to 1983. I was just wondering if anyone knows of any known problems with this vessel. We will be living aboard in South Carolina which I also have questions about. I like all four, and would like to throw some out prior to having the survey done on them If I see a problem, I can just walk first. Like I know with my Silverton, there was a problem with the fuel tanks leaking. Things like that. They all have GM Detroit’s in them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I also would like to know about marinas in the area between Myrtle Beach and Charleston. What is a good marina to look at to live aboard? We are going down in a couple of weeks to walk through them. Thank you in advance for all your help. I hope I can be a positive contributor to this forum in the future. Thanks again.
  2. Capt Ralph

Capt Ralph Senior Member

Ole Berts

There is no better feeling than taking your home with you where ever you go AND NOT have to wait for any weather window.
    We have lived on our 58 Bert MY for almost 8 years now. Rebuild almost everything and some items coming back around again.
    If you don't mind a fuel hog, there is no better ride. Carry extra props and set up a hookah rig.

The bad news, Don't pick up an old Bert for an investment.

Squirt us an note directly with your e-mail and we can share more.

71s rule,
    Ralph
  3. Grimreaper105

Grimreaper105 New Member