Click for Mulder Click for Burger Click for JetForums Click for Mulder Click for Northern Lights

Transporting Bertram 42 Motor Yacht

Discussion in 'Bertram Yacht' started by prisservin, Oct 25, 2010.

You need to be registered and signed in to view this content.
  1. prisservin

prisservin New Member

Hello,

I'm new at this, so please bear with me. We just purchased a 1983 Bertram 42 Motor Yacht and are planning to transport her to an inland lake. We are going to have to take off the flybridge and perhaps take her down below the windshields. Does anyone know where we could find technical drawings for this age boat that would identify attachment points?

Thanks!
  2. dennismc

dennismc Senior Member

Transport Bertram

If you contact Allied Richard Bertram in Ft Lauderdale they may be able to help, one of the reps there used to work at Bertrams and could give you a link to someone who would have that info.
    Don't be too optimistic though......
  3. RER

RER Senior Member

I'm not sure why you would need any technical data from Bertram to make the boat truck ready. Once you start to disassemble starting from the top, each next step tends to become pretty obvious. There's usually more head scratching involved with the removal of items that were added to the boat after it was built. Especially on an older boat. And that's not going to be in the Bertram specs anyway.

The best approach is to have the same tech do the work at both ends. If that's going to be you, then you already have that covered. If not, the cost of travel for the tech is money well spent.
  4. Loren Schweizer

Loren Schweizer YF Associate Writer

Prisservin, by 'attachment points', I assume you mean hull supports? The trucking company (e.g., Joule) will utilize a "low-boy" trailer with plenty of supports--padded screw-jack types.
  5. prisservin

prisservin New Member

Thank you